Catching a Theatre Festival in Delhi

This time I am quite excited and looking forward to watching at least one performance of Tifli, the  First International TYA Festival for Children, being held in New Delhi, until February 23, 2014. This is being organized by ASSITEJ India, and is being held at Bal Bhawan, Delhi.

Take a look:

It was long ago when I was introduced to the wonderful world of stage productions. I still remember the days when I used to attend the Nandikar National Theatre Festival held every year in December in Kolkata. Those were the days when I was introduced to amazing performances by Habib Tanveer, Amol Palekar, Rudraprasad Sengupta, Shaoni Mitra and the likes. Theatre has always seemed to me a thrilling media, capable of keeping me hooked to my seats for hours.

Legendarty  actor, Swatilekha Sengupta, performing in a play Naachni, by Naandikar; pic courtesy: Nandikaar

Legendarty actor, Swatilekha Sengupta, performing in a play Naachni, by Naandikar; pic courtesy: Nandikaar

I have stayed in many cities of India, but haven’t found much ado about theatres in most of the places. And then I came to Delhi. It’s here in Delhi I found that creative pursuits still have an engagement with audience. From street plays to day-long theatre workshops, to photo and art festivals to cultural evenings and debates, Delhi is thriving with things to do and events to attend. The last interesting performance I attended in Delhi was Mote ram ka Satyagrah by Asmita Theatre Group, in India Habitat Centre. When there was a power failure, performers were supported by lights from tens of lit cell phone screens held the audience, truly unbelievable!

My daughter is hard core stage performer. For every event in her school, she is forever ready to go up the stage. Last time when we were out on a holiday, her school chose their dramatics members and she lost her chance. Unperturbed she had walked up to her teacher and demanded a role, any role, on stage, and was excited when she was chosen to be part of a crowd. “Doesn’t matter what I am Mamma, so long as I am on stage, facing the audience”, she told me. Is that what makes the stage performers come back to the stage every time, the sheer excitement of facing a crowd, and your two minutes in the spotlight? Yes, I think that’s a real kick performers get.

IMG-20131128-00281

Yes, the TIFLI festival has almost come to an end, but I still want to catch the last few performances this weekend with my child. I think she’s going to like that. What about you?

One thought on “Catching a Theatre Festival in Delhi

  1. Pingback: At World Percussion Festival, Nehru Park, Delhi | Sharing Thoughts of Delhi

Leave a Reply

