Entertainment Options in Delhi: Priya Complex in Vasant Vihar

I love this place, be it watching a movie or doing a little shopping, I feel this is one area of Delhi, that is so me.

Why do I think that? I guess it’s because I find the place old and yet forever changing, new and yet not without roots. The complex, which has developed in the neighbourhood of Priya Cinema, an old movie complex in Basant Lok area of Vasant Vihar, taken over by theatre moghul, PVR, has a look and feel that is classy yet contemporary.

On my evenings over there, I have realised that there’s something to do for every family member. While my photographer hubby dear takes a snoop around his old photography institute in the area, my almost-teenage daughter loves the small stores that sell wooden and beaded jewellery, bags, and other fashion accessories, cheap and so for teenagers.

I often find myself shopping over there, at the couple of well-stocked tiny versions of supermarkets for groceries, especially the not-so-easily available teas, pasta sauces, various chicken and mutton portions, and exotic veggies such as Brussels sprouts, cherry tomatoes, and vanilla sprigs.

There are plenty of other shopping attractions too, including my favourite, books. Many a times, I find myself browsing the bookshelves, and picking up some editions I missed in my collection. And of course, I love the movie theatre. Nice and plush, the theatre is one of the few places in Delhi where one may not have to spend a packet to catch a popular show.

What my foodie hubby likes is the eateries galore. From my daughter’s favourite burgers and pizzas, to coffee shops and hot dogs from the roadside stalls, to gourmet delights, this place caters to all tastes. My personal favourite is, of course, Arabian Nights, a small place offering absolutely yummy cuisine from the Middle East.

Leave a Reply

